Balancing Act

Life is a balancing act. You weigh the consequences, hope and pray like crazy, step out in faith, and then you . . . 

Balancing Act

. . . what? Fall? Fly? Sit down and stay safe? All of us, including Simeon the seagull up there, have something in common. We are forever trying to get our sea legs, make smart choices, maintain our balance in life, and when we love God, do our best to listen to him.

And isn’t it awesome when we’re trusting in the Lord and he suddenly opens our eyes and ignites a spark in our spirit and we are set on fire to glorify him in a new way?

We may not know quite where he’s leading us when we take that first step, but he’s with us. Excitement drives us. Prayer, fresh faith, and hope make up the fuel that keeps us moving ahead, and gives us fresh purpose.

 

Sometimes a single word can change our path because God has shone his light on it.

Well over ten years ago, my husband and I were spending some time away from a hot summer in Florida.

North Carolina home

North Carolina home

Sipping coffee and breathing in the cool, honeysuckle-scented air, I had curled up in a chair on the front porch of the little hundred-year-old cabin we’d brought back to life in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

Summer Reading

Browsing through a magazine, a word, a name that was to become the catalyst  for a story, jumped from the page. Along with the name came an idea that drove me to my laptop and merged me with the keyboard as a story began to pour out.

What? In this late season of my life? I was newly retired, for heaven’s sake!

I’d always loved to write and kept an ongoing journal, but this was something new. A dream. Something I thought I could never do. And this is where Simeon and I are alike. We both sometimes struggle for our balance in life. He’s on automatic pilot with his Creator, but I go on to weigh the consequences, hope, pray like crazy, and step out in faith.

During the years since then there has been a lot of breath-holding, tons of hope and faith and time and effort and joy and rejection and small publishing successes. Now, two and a half manuscripts later, the novel, The Stonekeepers, the one that evolved from a single word, is to be published this later this year—and I’m thrilled!

Has there been a God-directed single event or series of events, that invaded your life and caused you to switch direction? Did you start a new hobby? Simplify your life? Decide to go into business for yourself? (Gulp, I did that!) Meet someone?

How is your balance? I’d love it if you’d share a point in your life-story when your path veered in a new direction–or just to say “Hi.” Click on Comments, below.

Everyone has a story… more than one … filled with memories … experiences …
the good, and the not so good–even the miraculous.

“To me every hour of the light and dark is a miracle,
every cubic inch of space is a miracle.” Walt Whitman

“Show me Your ways, O Lord; teach me Your paths” (Psalm 25:4 NKJV).

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Balancing Act

  1. You are such an inspiration and I am so anxious for your book The Stonekeepers
    to come out. You were right, I loved It’s a balancing act..

    Like

Leave a Reply

