Sticks and Stones

I’m honored to have writer, speaker, teacher, and friend, Jeanne Doyon, guest-posting on Everyone Has A Story this week. Jeanne’s post holds a message that every woman needs to hear and begins with a saying most all of us know by heart . . .

Jeanne writes:

Sticks and stones

. . . will break my bones but names will never hurt me.

Do you remember chanting this in self-defense as a child? I do and I need to tell you, it’s a lie!

For years I struggled with #insecurity—feeling ugly and awkward because I wore eyeglasses as a little girl. That may sound like an exaggeration now, but when fueled by other’s words it wasn’t then. I learned all about sticks and stones and experienced the hidden wounds they caused.

I began wearing glasses as a nine-year old and had a gym teacher who called me unkind names like, four-eyed-monkey-face. In junior-high my science teacher announced to the class that girls with glasses would never be asked out on dates.

I know; I’d like to give them a piece of my mind too!

Every little girl struggles with self-image and these callous comments only solidified the truth I saw when I looked in the mirror. I never seemed to measure up to the beauty I saw in others.

Years later as a young mother, I grew in my faith and relationship with God. During my prayer time one afternoon I sensed Him say, I love you and you’re beautiful—even your glasses. I have no idea where this came from, but as His words washed over my heart, I began to sob. Then a peace I can’t explain filled me as I sat in His presence.

God is such a gracious Father. I experienced healing that day and began a journey of seeing myself through God’s eyes rather than the eyes of others—a journey that continues to this day.

The older I get my past becomes clearer. The healing of my hurtful memories is part of learning who I am as a child of God. As I discover more about Him, He shows me more about myself and other areas that need His healing touch.

We all have events in our past that have roots to our present struggles. As we spend time in God’s presence, praying and listening, seeking Him through His word, then He uncovers hidden things and brings our brokenness into the light. Healing is the result.

As we share our story, others are encouraged and God is glorified. Romans 8:28’s truth of all things working for our good becomes a reality. Instead of the hurts being for harm, they become redemptive through the healing ways of God.

Everything that God has done for me gives hope to share with another person who struggles with a similar hurt. When I’m willing to share my brokenness, I’ll see His redemptive results. As I walk the path toward Christ-likeness, transparent about where I have come from, others will see an imperfect vessel touched by the Spirit of God.

Only Jesus Christ can heal and bring wholeness to our past. His desire is for our best and to take the areas of weakness and give us His strength. In our broken world Jesus offers healing for our heart through His Spirit who makes all things new.

The sticks and stones may have made their mark but the healing we find in Christ is transformative because of the wounds he bore on our behalf. The hurt doesn’t define us—it frees us to become all He has for us through the redemptive power of His life broken for us.

How has Jesus ministered to your broken places? Have you experienced His redemptive power?

Jeanne

Previously published on The Stream’s Edge, shared with permission.

About Jeanne Doyon:

Jeanne Doyon loves encouraging others to draw nearer to the Lover of their souls. She connects the Truths in Scripture to the ordinary events of life and shares her reflections on her blog at http://www.streams-edge.blogspot.com. Jeanne enjoys photography, tea with friends, creating with beads and looks forward to being a grandma. She and her husband, John enjoy their empty nest but wish their children weren’t so far away. Email Jeanne at jeanne.doyon@gmail.com and find out more about her speaking topics at http://www.jeannedoyon.blogspot.com

I love this quote from Jeanne’s speakers blog “. . . I am embracing what it means to balance living boldly for Him with complete dependence upon Him.”

Thanks, Jeanne, for sharing your heart, your story, and your encouragement with us.

“Pleasant words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the bones” (Proverbs 16:24 NKJV).

8 thoughts on “Sticks and Stones

  1. Your post was balm on a sore spot I have that takes me back to when I was a little girl and had to wear a big ole black patch over my good eye to make my other lazy eye work harder. Not a good memory!
    Thank you, Jeanne, for your gracious transparency and encouragement that we, too, can rise above our broken places and trust in a Savior who loves us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for your invitation to share as your guest, Sally. Words are powerful – our wounds are evidence of this. I’ve discovered how my wounds are healed in His gentle presence. In His graciousness, He reveals them a bit at a time and touches them by the power of His Spirit. I am free from their hold when I see who I am in Christ.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for your thoughtful response to Jeanne’s excellent post, Christina. I hope others will visit your blog and read what you’ve written on the topic as I just did. Amid all that you said, this stood out for me: “We can’t tame our own tongues, but God can.” The power of words truly is an awesome responsibility to wield as we speak or write them! God bless you and the work of your hands for Him, Christina.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Christina, thank you for your healing words. Broken spirits need words that will touch the splinters and speak life into the dead places. I’m off to read your post…. Blessings to you as you touch lives in His name and with His words.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How true it is, Jeanne, that the opinions and words of others can hurt and can have a profound influence on our lives. Thank you for the reminder that Jesus Christ heals. That is an even greater truth, isn’t it? And to know that God wants the best for us; that he wants us to know his love. I think Christianity is the only faith which teaches us that God loves us. I’m so glad to know how God spoke to you re the glasses.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Zillahw1st, you are so right. Jesus touches every broken place and speaks Truth over the lies. We are precious in His sight! Thanks for your insights. Everyone needs to know that how others see us, or we see ourselves isn’t grounded in truth. And the weapon of words does incredible damage even when we are not fully aware. How apt it is that He tells us, “Let no unwholesome word come out of your mouth…and love your neighbor as yourself.”
    Have you read Max Lucado’s story about the Wemmicks? There is such truth in this story!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zillah and Jeanne, I just found Max Lucado’s story online. I hadn’t read it before, and I didn’t make it through without tears. So many hurt so much and need to know how precious they are to God, their Maker. Thank you, Jeanne for pointing us to the story. I have already shared it with my granddaughter.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

