Wait!

We sit on weathered gray benches of rough-hewn pine worn smooth with use and age. Tiers of them are positioned to view a burbling, boiling cauldron of vaporizing turquoise liquid.

There must be close to a hundred souls here, seated or standing, wrapped in cold, late spring air.

Youth aren’t usually known for the fruit of patience, and the two groups of youth filling most of the benches are no exception. They’re waiting, antsy, talking, laughing, and bantering with each other and their counselors.

Some are from homes far away. We hear many different languages spoken, and faces from cultures different from our own, smile back at us.

A common reason brings us to this place. We want to watch this geyser reach for the sky.

“Does anyone know how long is it supposed to be before it erupts the next time?” I ask those who sit next to me.

There are some shrugs and head-shakes. But an attractive dark-eyed teen rubs her cold hands together, and replies with a grin “I don’t know for sure, but I just heard it should be in about fifteen minutes or so,”

Above us one of the groups blend their voices to sing “Happy Birthday” to an older counselor. We all applaud and wish him well. Next to us another group floods the chilly air with the same song for their friend, Rachel. Rachel covers her face with gloved hands in embarrassment. There’s more well-wishing and applause.

Time drags it’s feet, and another song begins. But this one’s different. “Jesus Loves Me.”

Hmmm, they’re more than just summer campers. And we learn that there are youth groups from churches in many other states around the country.

The songs become a gentle rivalry as one group attempts to outdo the other. They do “the Wave” then sing some more. And most songs bring back memories from my own church camp days. The songs lift up the Lord.

It becomes quiet for a moment. Then the crystal clear music from a single young voice graces the atmosphere with “How Great Thou Art.” Her group immediately joins in.

I can’t stop myself from singing along. Neither can most everyone else, and it becomes a time of worship and awe of God’s handiwork. I sense His arms around us. Jesus is here. This piece of time becomes a witness to those who don’t know Him.

The song ends, and immediately the music of the turquoise pool begins. Amazed at the timing, all of us draw in deep breaths of the icy air, watching as the heated bubbling waters roar upward in a crescendo of silver-white foam soaring skyward in leaping waves, one after another.

The heat permeates the cold air and creates a steamy cloud of vapor. Miniature tidal waves send liquid flooding over the multicolored edges of the crater. Our awe continues as the pool settles into another cycle of quiet.

Are you waiting for something right now?

Waiting for a geyser is one thing, but what about when you’re waiting for test results or for a change in your life or a baby, a new job, or simply peace of heart?

 Sometimes it isn’t easy.

“I am weary with my crying; my throat is dry; my eyes fail while I wait for my God” (Psalm 69:3).
“My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him” (Psalm 62:5).

“Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the Lord!” (Psalm 27:14).
“Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield” (Psalm 33:20).
“And now, Lord, what do I wait for? My hope is in You” (Psalm 39:7).

Here’s how God wants us to wait:

“But without faith it is impossible to please Him, he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him” (Hebrews 11:6).

And check out James 1:6, too.

I’d love for you to leave a comment.

The photo above is of Old Faithful. To see photo of Echinus Geyser erupting click here http://marlimillerphoto.com/Ig-65.html

 All scripture is from the New King James Version of the Bible.
8 thoughts on “Wait!

  1. Dear Sally, I wept as the story unfolded and reached the climax revealing God’s glory. I could hear the Lord whisper,” I Am Jehovah Shammah. I am here…with them. What delight!. They are looking to Me. I am so excited to bless them, amaze them, because they wait with expectancy… for Me!”
    Thank you dear Sally,
    Margie

    Like

  2. What a message:-)
    Thank you so much Sally for sharing this powerful piece of encouragement.Earlier this year I submitted a huge business proposal to my country’s government.The proposal was so good that I was really expectant of a speedy positive response.A lot of needy lives depend upon the sucess of that proposal.I have been so anxiously awaiting that miracle email in my inbox and its been over 9 months waiting.This period of waiting has not been easy.Oftentimes I have questioned God about this ‘unnecessary delay’.I must say that the government’s silence has really stretched my patience and I was just about to give up on the project when I came across this post.From what you shared, I have learnt that waiting on God is a difficult thing to explain theologically.Sally when you mentioned Psalms 62:5 you reminded me to shift my focus from expecting my answer from human beings and expecting only from God.Your post has brought a fresh wave of hope to me, and I am genuinely thankful to you Sally.May God continue to use you mightily…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for commenting and sharing your thoughts, Yadley. I’m so happy that you found the post and the wonderful scripture verse, Psalm 62:5, to be encouraging. I’m praying for you.
    The Lord Jesus bless you and grant you peace of mind and heart in all you do for your people, your country, and for our heavenly Father as He leads you through the doors He has prepared for you.

    Like

  4. I realize this is a repeat, but I didn’t see it the first time. Waiting has always been hard for me until I realized that His time was not my time. Now I just figure that if He wants me some place quickly, He will move traffic out of my way. Otherwise I just wait. It isn’t always easy, but practice makes perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

