Feeling Invisible?

“Am I invisible? Am I inaudible? Do I merely festoon the room with my presence?” as Christopher Fry was to ask in The Lady’s Not for Burning.

I love that quote! It flat out made me giggle when I first read it with its reminder of how invisible I feel sometimes. You know—those days when you just want to wave your arms and yell, “I’m right here and I have a name!”

Life holds such a clamor of people and things. We’re pulled in a dozen directions at once. We feel both invisible and inaudible and we wonder . . .

Who sees who I really am? Who truly listens to what I have to say?

Maybe you’re a stay-at-home mom. Has your other half ever sauntered into the house much later than he’d said he’d be, and before you can say a word, he says “Man what a day! What’s to eat?” [After the day you’ve had, you barely hold back a slightly snarky “Um, it’s all curled up in the oven waiting for you, sweetie!”]

Or maybe you’ve been bolted to your desk, jammed up against deadlines when your boss pokes his head into your office to deliver a veiled sing-song request, “Copier”s out of paper!” [You grit your teeth against blurting out something a notch less than ladylike!]

Even a doting grandmother, without receiving so much as a welcoming hug, might sometimes hear “Did you bring me a present?” [Ouch! Just maybe I shouldn’t have?]

Ever think, What! Am I a nonentity?

No matter what your circumstances, do you seem to fade into invisibility and feel taken for granted when you live out scenes like those?

And as if all that isn’t enough stress, what about the things that constantly beckon us wherever we are, like ticking timers, buzzers, bells, phones, and chimes, all demanding us to race to them for attention?

Of course, we don’t “merely festoon” our homes or where we work,with our presence. ☺ We’re loved by our family, appreciated by our bosses, colleagues, and co-workers, (no, not all the time) but we catch glimpses.

But when the only warmth and welcome seems to come from a pot full of fresh-perked coffee or the brisk scent of brewing tea or the comforting aroma of hot chocolate, just maybe it’s time to take a break.

So what do you do when you feel invisible?

You can stop, pull in a breath, and turn things around. You can lift something more than a cup of coffee, tea, or chocolate.

Lift up your eyes: Unto You I lift up my eyes, O You who dwell in the heavens” (Psalm 123:1).

Lift up a friend: “For if they fall, one will lift up his companion. But woe to him who is alone when he falls, for he has no one to help him up” (Ecclesiastes 4:10).

Lift up your voice: “Your watchmen shall lift up their voices, with their voices they shall sing together . . .” (Isaiah 52:8a)

Lift up your soul: “Rejoice the soul of Your servant, for to You, O Lord, I lift up my soul” (Psalm 86:4).

Lift up your hands: “Lift up your hands in His Name: Thus I will bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name” (Psalm 63:4).

 ♥

“They shall lift up their voice, they shall sing; for the majesty of the LORD they shall cry aloud from the sea” (Isaiah 24:14).

And there’s One to whom you are never invisible or inaudible.

Dance! Your heavenly Father adores you!

Allow God to lift you up:
“Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and He will lift you up” (James 4:10).

“. . . I am with you always, even to the end of the age” (Matthew 28:20b).

I like this breath prayer too: “More of you, Lord. Less of me.”

And I’m sure you have your own stress relievers. I’d love for you to share some.

Love,

Sally

 All scripture is from New King James Version of the Holy Bible
11 thoughts on “Feeling Invisible?

  1. I really enjoyed this post!I have days like this quite often–I stay at home and write while everyone I know works outside the home.They call me whenever as though I’m sitting there waiting with nothing else to do. The good news–I can pray for them and their concerns.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh, I can relate. Yes, I’m usually at home, writing. I do get out–to the grocery store or to check on my mother–who thinks I shouldn’t be sitting in front of a computer. But going over to her house and sitting at the table to eat stacks of cookies and freshly baked cake is okay. Ha. By afternoon, I’m picking up one to four grandchildren from a couple different schools and dropping them off at different spots–depending on scheduling. One grandson stays with me until five-thirty or so, until he’s picked up. I’ve had to train myself not to talk a person’s head off when I do get out with a friend for lunch, etc. Had to explain to my husband…you see people all day, you talk to ADULTS, you laugh, and come home wanting to kick back and watch news programs on TV. Hmm, okay….I’m headed back to my friend, the computer, after I clear the supper dishes, feed the dog, take the towels out of the dryer, and go collect the eggs from the coop. 🙂 I did I mention that I tend to ramble…because I don’t talk to many real live people? Oh, there’s people in my head, but they are living out their lives in the 1800’s and having all kinds of adventures! I better go help them write their story…….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Goodness, Karen! You really can relate! But how wonderful that you can enjoy your mother and your grandchildren. I miss talking with my mom since she’s with the Lord, and my grandchildren are all grown up, living far from my husband and me now. Rare that I get to see them. Love that you have a dog, and get to collect fresh eggs! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a wonderful comment! ☺

    Like

  4. You’re welcome, shelco. Not such a great day for you yesterday. I’m happy you came across my blog path and that words you needed were there for you. Being in that position hurts, but God always has a way of showing you how much he loves and cares. Thanks for the follow. I look forward to your comments!

    Like

Leave a Reply

