Joy Undiminished

Someone once said:

“In Christ we have a love that can never be fathomed,

a life that can never die,

a peace that can never be understood,

a rest that can never be disturbed,

a joy that can never be diminished,

a hope that can never be disappointed,

a glory that can never be clouded,

a light that can never be darkened,

and a spiritual resource that can never be exhausted.”

Surrounded by all the familiar scents and sounds of a busy Thanksgiving morning, I stand in the midst my hectic kitchen with joy spilling over my edges and just breathe. The table is ready, laden with a bounty of all the traditional feast of foods we enjoy every year on this day. Family is all over the house talking, laughing, sharing photos, catching up. It feels wonderful and I’m bathed in blessings.

I glance at the stove with its pan full of steaming, now-smooth gravy, and grin. (You need to know that gravy and I have a battle history!) Moments ago, I’d grumbled over that pan. Not now! “Where is joy in lumpy gravy?” I’d asked the Lord.

I should know by now that no detail of the lives of God’s children is outside His purview. Words that God spoke to the prophet, Jeremiah, pop into my head. “Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh. Is there anything too hard for me?”

I ask and trust that my nemesis, gravy, will behave itself  and deliciously grace our turkey, stuffing, and potatoes—and that this day will be full of joy.

Looking back later, I’m thankful about how the lumps smoothed out of more than just the gravy throughout that day.

I have to smile a little and agree with the prophet’s words, “Ah, Lord God! You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm. There is nothing too hard for you.”

Traditions have changed in my family in the last few years. Jerry and I join the rest of the family at my daughter and son-in-law’s home on Thanksgiving Day. Now I’m beside them in their bright, warm (yes, hectic) kitchen to help with dinner—and would you believe, I’m still assigned to fight with the gravy?

Are your Thanksgiving traditions the same or have they changed over time?      Do you have a favorite blessing you use?      Have you a favorite handed-down recipe?
I’d love for you to share a story or two about traditions you enjoy (kitchen adventures welcome)!

I will praise the name of God with a song, And will magnify Him with thanksgiving” (Psalm 69:30 NKJV).

Praying that you have a Joy-Filled Thanksgiving Day!

Love, Sally

The verses from Jeremiah 32:27; 17 are from TLB

 

4 thoughts on “Joy Undiminished

  1. I hope your Thanksgiving is so lovely and that your gravy is a success! I used to always have to do that too. 🙂 We are headed to Lakeland this holiday to spend time with a good friend and her mom. No one wanted to cook so we are catering it. That will be different for sure. I’m making rolls though to take and there will be homemade pies. Our traditions have changed so much over the years. I used to lament that and get all teary-eyed over the days but have learned to live with what God gives me. Or at least I try to!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your plans sound wonderful! Being with friends and family is such a blessing as traditions and trimmings change along with our lives. Thanks for the good-gravy wishes! ☺ Safe travels–have a great Thanksgiving Day, Terri. Now to gather pecan pie ingredients . . .!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your story about the gravy sounds like mine. I too was always the gravy maker. A couple of years ago we solved the lumpy gravy issue. We buy fresh made gravy at Publics Deli. It seems to satisfy everyone and I don’t have to deal with the lumps. Thanks for your message. Your writings are so graciously written. May you and your’s have a blessed Thanksgiving. Lovingly, Marge Armison

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha! I’m sure not alone in my gravy stories! ☺ Thanks for visiting and for your comments, Margie. I’ll have to try Publix Deli gravy. Love, and may God bless you and your family with a wonderful Thanksgiving Day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

