Listen!

“Now therefore, listen to me, my children, for blessed are those who keep my ways.” Proverbs 8:32

Years ago I used to  love the times of solitude while riding my chestnut mare, Cindy, through the nearby desert. They were wonderful times to enjoy silence and sunshine, to relax and think.

Most times, the rides were uneventful. But there was one day as I slowed Cindy’s spirited gallop to descend the sandy slope of a dune, that she suddenly stopped.

She stood perfectly still, her ears poised to catch every sound. No amount of coaxing encouraged her to move.

I was impatient with Cindy’s apparent stubbornness.

I didn’t hear the sound she was hearing.

I didn’t sense the rock-hardness of her tensed muscles beneath me.

Leaning forward, I was ready to scold her. But the sight before me took my breath instead. I finally understood.

There before us, coiled and ready to strike, was the reason Cindy was not moving. I finally heard the distinctive, dry warning sounds of a desert rattlesnake.

My ears were opened and my senses set on fire with understanding. Prayers of thankfulness flooded my heart.

I felt God’s protective presence that day as we remained quiet and the danger left its undulating pattern across the sandy dune and out of sight.

I was reminded then as I am today of how vitally important it is to be aware of how God chooses to speak to us.

He speaks to us in countless ways, but sometimes to hear His warnings or guidance we must be still and listen, and we’re wise to listen with patience.

The choices we make, our well-being, and occasionally our safety can depend upon how well we listen.

“A voice came from the cloud, saying, ‘This is my Son, whom I have chosen; listen to him.’” Luke 9:35 NIV

I am a whisper in time. Down through the corridor of the ages my whisper echoes with feathery sweeps into the age to come.  An excerpt from my journal.

Has there been a time when you’ve listened and avoided danger?

Love,

Sally

4 thoughts on “Listen!

  1. Such an important story, Sally. I have often thought that someday we will be amazed at all the dangers God saved us from that we never saw, that we never knew existed. I can look back now and see things that God protected me from when I had made bad choices. His grace is abundant. Glory to his name!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Pat, I was so deep into remembering and writing this post that I forgot the most important part of the story — how thankful I was and am. I echo your words. “His grace is abundant. Glory to His name!” So much could have happened that didn’t. So many stories to tell! Hugs!

    Like

  3. I climbed up to top of an extension ladder to pull the dead palm fronds out of a tree. I was always adventuresome, but this time I went a little too far out. I suddenly felt a gentle push back to the ladder and swore an angel had to have done that. I forever remembered that and when I reached the ground that day, I decided the fronds could come down some other way. I frightened myself into a huge dose of common sense from that day on. Praising my Savior all the day long.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, Kathy, that was an amazing event in your life! You wrote this so well, I could “see” it happening. So thankful for that heavenly touch that kept you from danger. Thanks for sharing this. I’m praising the Lord right along with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

