Signs and Seas

It’s a cool, beautiful leaf-strewn day in early October.

I slow the car for a lazy curve, praying and and thinking back over the last troubling week of seemingly never-ending problems. Self-imposed deadlines, expectations of others, an untimely sinus infection . . .

On and on. I allow the mean little puppy of anxiety to to nip at my heels.

Help, Lord.

A a small white country church nestled in a sea of fall colors, its spire piercing upward, reaching for the clouds floods my view.

On the church sign, my eyes and imagination are caught up in the words. “A smooth sea does not make a great sailor.”

My sea has been far from smooth.

But always my strength and my song, He has me glimpse a simple sign.

I negotiate the next curve and smile as He rights my ship.

He’s with me. Within His will and with His help there isn’t anything I can’t do.

Those rough seas shape me,

keep me becoming the best sailor I can be for my Captain.

“Troubles are often the tools by which God fashions us for better things.” Henry Ward Beecher

“Faith pulls the black mask from the face of trouble, and discovers the angel beneath.” Charles H. Spurgeon

“The LORD is good, A stronghold in the day of trouble; And He knows those who trust in Him” (Nahum 1:7 NKJV).

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33 NIV).

“Then He [Jesus] arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, ‘Peace, be still!’ And the wind ceased and there was a great calm” (Mark 4:39 NKJV).

Jesus said: “And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:26 NKJV)

Troubles, trials, tribulations, tumults, whatever they are termed, we never have to go through them alone.

What are you facing today that has you running to the LORD, your stronghold and very present help in time of trouble? Reread those verses above and “take heart!”

Love,

Sally

 

4 thoughts on “Signs and Seas

  1. I could have easily been NC. So many little pieces of heaven on earth that look like that. The photographer, Patrick, said in a comment about this photo, that it was taken in Stowe, VT when he was walking his dog. I wish I had one of the real church I passed by in NC, but this fit perfectly. Love that you stopped by and commented! ☺

    Like

  2. This is beautiful, Sally, and so timely for me as I struggle with the first real writer’s block I’ve experienced since I began writing seriously. I am very appreciative of your words, the quotes, and the Scriptures you’ve shared. God bless you.

    Like

  3. You’ve been in my prayers since I saw your comment come through earlier, Peg. I’m thankful this post spoke to your heart at a time when you needed it to. There are a couple of things we know. The word of God–the sword of the spirit–is the weapon of choice in this struggle against the one who knows and attempts to stop the good that flows through your pen. And you and I know he cannot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

